Acid Reflux Returns

We finally thought we had things on track with Boo’s acid reflux, things had been getting progressively better since we started weaning and once she finally started to eat a bit more solid food. She has been on a small dose of Ranitidine for a while, (which we hadn’t had to up with her weight which was great) so we finally decided to try to slowly reduce the dose to see if Boo could be weaned off it completely (All dosage changes are talked through and agreed with Boo’s GP). We  reduced it to by one tenth and kept it at that level for a week, and just as we were about to reduce it by a small amount again the symptoms started again. It’s so frustrating. For Boo hiccups are the first sign, she’ll get them 4 or 5 times the first day and they last for ages, things then get worse from there.

So we are back up to the previous dose as we need to make sure things are under control.  The sad thing is that the meds take a few days to start working again, so we have a few bumpy days until things are sorted. I am reluctant to try and reduce the dosage again though obviously we will have to wait a few weeks at least before we do try again.

Dealing with reflux has been so difficult for Boo and for my husband and I, to start with we were told Boo had colic but it was soon apparent that this was wrong, as things didn’t match up.  Luckily the G.P was great  prescribing medication for Boo and the third type of medication we tried helped to managed Boo’s symptoms.

It is so incredible difficult to watch your tiny baby crying and suffering and in pain and not be able to do anything about it. You feel so helpless and small.  I am breastfeeding Boo and it was a really heartbreaking to deal with the fact that I would feed her and then she would be in pain.  It felt like I was causing her pain, I felt guilty about so many thing, the fact I couldn’t really ease her suffering, the fact that we had to give her all these different types of medication until we found the right one (it felt so wrong to be giving my baby these alien medications especially as we had decided to breastfeed because I wanted keep things as natural as possible).

Another element to deal with in all of this is health professionals. We were lucky because Boo had a doctor who understood and was willing to prescribe her medication, but some people aren’t so lucky. And unfortunately our health visitor was not as understanding.  I overheard her (not long after Boo was diagnosed) telling other parents at a drop in clinic that ‘acid reflux was fashionable now’. I cannot express how small those words made me feel. A thousand questions exploded in my mind… were we imagining things? was it just colic? could Boo do without her meds? what if these meds are unnecessary and they have side effects? why Boo? why does Boo have to have this problem?

I really wish I could take Boo’s pain away (I know it sounds cliched)  I really wish that Boo didn’t have to deal with this. I am glad that when she is older Boo won’t remember this. I know I shouldn’t waste time wishing for things that can not happen and I need to focus on making sure Boo’s reflux is managed as well as possible so she remains as symptom-less as we can manage.

As I write this Boo is upstairs napping after a bad morning where she has thrown up several times in the couple of hours she has been awake because for some reason today her acid is fighting back with vengeance, I just have to hope that these bumpy, sicky days get less and less often…

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

 Post Comment Love

7 thoughts on “Acid Reflux Returns

  1. Poor Boo, hope the reflux gets better soon. What an dreadful and unhelpful comment from your health visitor – reflux is horrible, why would any parent want their child to have it just to be ‘fashionable’. Jessica had reflux after her second op and it wasn’t nice at all – she ended up on three lots of meds to reduce it and it disappeared around seven months when she was recovering from the next round of surgery. Hope Boo’s reflux starts to go soon as well x

  2. Oh dear I feel for you. My little Roo had terrible colic from birth through to 9 months when she was then diagnosed with a milk protein allergy and egg allergy. My little Pickle had reflux from day one. Everything he drank seemed to be brought up again (although he held some down as he put on weight). Eventually he was put on ‘special’ formula and I stopped breast feeding (me feeding him just didn’t work…lots of psychological issues and he bit!)…his throwing up continued until he was weaned. However, we suspect that he still has it as he is constantly clearing his throat. Initially we thought it was an attention thing and ignored it for a long time. Recently I took him to the dr who has prescribed gaviscon to try. Since it seems to be a bit better we are wondering if it is that again. I just hope we don’t have to go back to him being on ranitadine again. Fingers crossed little Boo will be better soon x

    1. thank you very much. It seems like so many people have had to deal with this, it’s a really shocker that healthcare professionals seem to be so misinformed or unwilling to help. I am glad that Pickle is feeling better with the help of the gaviscon =)

  3. Oh no hope it goes away soon, I remember eldest having baby gaviscon with awful colic, it’s a horrible time for you all! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

Leave a Reply

