Things that helped me survive HG

As it is soon Boo’s birthday, I have been looking back on my pregnancy and I have decided to write a list of the things which helped me get though my HG pregnancy. I know that everyone is different and what might work for some might not work for others, but if it helps just one person a tiny bit then it will have been worth it.

I know from experience that telling someone what they should be doing or what miraculous cures are out there doesn’t help, so this is why this is just my list and if it gives any ideas that’s great.  Sadly none of this offered me a magical cure it only helped make things a little more bearable, and although my sickness got slightly better about 19/20 weeks the 24/7 nausea didn’t subside until 41 weeks when Boo arrived. What I will say is… that it was worth it… not that I could even believe it at the time, but it really was.

1. Water – drinking cold water in sips from a bottle throughout the day really helped, I think it helped because it wasn’t overloading my stomach by taking sips and the coldness helped me to feel better too for some reason.

2. Being cold – this was not easy in the middle of the heatwave we had in the summer of last year but it did help if I could be cool. Even as a child with travel sickness being cold has helped to reduce my nausea.

3. Freezer bags… I carried a supply around with me in case I couldn’t make it to a toilet, I even kept them in my pockets and next to the sofa and bed, one thing you do not want to be doing when you have HG is cleaning up your own sick…

4. Naps – the more tired I felt the worse I felt, and as I had to be signed off work for some of my pregnancy I had the opportunity to nap in the day and this did help, though just falling asleep and not feeling sick for a little while may have had something to do with it.

5. I avoided the dishes, and the kitchen… smells.. yuk… I was lucky in that my hubby was very supportive and so he did all the dishes and his cooking.

6. I ate what I could, not what I thought I should… I spent a lot of the early days trying to eat right and what was best but then I would throw it up or not be able to manage it. after a few weeks I started to just listen to my body and eat what I was able to, even if it was nothing but plain porridge for a week… better some food than none at all.

7. Swapping my pregnancy vitamins… I found that I just couldn’t face taking them for a couple of days and then I felt a little better so I swapped brand and that helped me (it may have been coincidence but I didn’t want to risk it)

8. Travel Sickness Bands – helped me in the very early days for a couple of weeks to make things manageable and meant I could get it to work

9. Eating every two hours – cereal bars were really helpful for me, it was just something and even if it was just a bite or two or half or whatever it helped me to feel a little better.

10. I had a month and a bit off work in the first trimester which really helped, as it removed pressure from me of having to get up and go to work, I know this is not an option for everyone and obviously if you have other children you can’t stop looking after them!

 

And on the flip side… things that did not help me at all

1. Ginger bloody biscuits…

2. Medication –  I know that medication works for some people and I did try different kinds of medication but I found that sadly they didn’t work for me, there may be others that are out there that could have worked but I didn’t try them all. I do know some people find a lot of relief with medication so it’s definately worth looking in to

3. Just shutting up and getting on with it… I did try at the start, but I ended up more sick and it was just horrible, obviously life has to go on, but I took any support and help I could from the people that offered, I didn’t suffer alone (or quietly!)

4. People sticking their two pence worth in… I know that they are only trying to help, and in a way this list is probably skirting the line of doing the same thing but when you are exhausted, drained and feeling like death you don’t really want to hear what anyone else did to make them feel better#… chances are you have already tried it! (so apologies to anyone who thinks this list is crossing that line!)

 

The List
4 thoughts on “Things that helped me survive HG

  1. Ha! Love that last one. Sounds bloody awful love 😦 what a shame! but these are great tips for anyone having to go through this horrid experience!

    Thanks for linking up to #Thelist! Hope you’ve had a good week xxx

  2. I didn’t suffer from HG because, luckily, I found a drug that works for me and kept me from needing more treatment — but I’m right with you on most of these!! Especially the last. I tried so hard to be gracious every time someone told me about another “miracle cure” or brought me fresh ginger or ginger candies or sea sickness bands….but oh my goodness. I just wanted to slap some people. Loved this list! I recently wrote up a list too. I held off for so long because I didn’t want to be pushy either!

Leave a Reply

