A New ‘Job’

Last night I wrote a very important letter, it was a scary letter to write… my resignation from my job.  My husband and I have decided that the best thing for the family right now is for me to be a SAHM.  I am excited but also apprehensive, I have never resigned from a job without having the next one lined up, it feels strange to be floating in the ether.

I know that I do have a ‘job’ even though I definitely don’t see being a mummy to Boo as a job but it is what I am going to spend my days (and nights) doing. I am excited because it means I get to spend lots of time with Boo and because I can have a think about what job I would like to do in the future, and possibly look into training.

My current plan is to spend the next 1-2 years at home with Boo and possibly doing some form of part time training, and then look for a part time job until Boo is older, and then go back full time when I feel Boo is old enough.  I know that plans change, but this is the rough plan I feel suits my little family best.IMG_3246

It’s exciting and scary at the same time, Boo will be my boss and I don’t think she is going to go easy on me!

 

2 thoughts on “A New ‘Job’

  1. How exciting! I was like you, when I wrote the letter saying I was not going to return from maternity leave it was the first time I had been without a job since I was 21 and I was then 37 (and I had been in the last one for 12 years). I found it strange not earning my own money but it was amazing to have the time with Freya. I work part time from home now so perhaps have the best of both worlds.

  2. I had the same issue while i quit my job for my naughty little boy! Now i know that was the right decision and i enjoy every moment of motherhood. Though it drains out lots of my time and energy i realise its totally worth it everytime he smiles and cries simply for a hug from me!

    Go ahead! Enjoy every moment of motherhood for you know they will grow up before you know!

Leave a Reply

